New Beginning As A Reflection Point

cambiare_vita

In life, we all like surprising moments. Be it a vacation to a new place, career advancement or promotion, gifts from loved ones etc. The effects of such moments make us sometimes to wonder why we deserve them or what did we do? Well, that is part of the essence of life. If you do good, you do it for yourself. As it is written in Proverbs 11:17, “the merciful man does good for his own soul, but he who is cruel troubles his own flesh”.

We all get excited when we mark the end of a year and welcome a New Year. Most importantly, setting New Year’s resolution or expectation becomes the norm. The moment is cherished as an ideal time to plan for another beginning of a 365 or 366 days journey even if we couldn’t achieve all the hopes we planned for in the previous year.

3461850112_1da8700f79_o

In my opinion, a season of every new beginning is really important because they help us to reflect on the past to refocus on our hope for the future. Proverbs 13:12 says that “hope deferred makes the heart sick, but when the desire comes, it is a tree of life”. Therefore, every new beginning in our lives serve as a reflection point or an evaluation phase for how far we are reaching our desired goal. New Year is globally celebrated together as a seasonal beginning. Besides, we all have individual seasonal beginnings. Examples are anniversary events – birthday, job, marriage, etc.

Today, 13th January, marks another new beginning in my life because it’s my birthday. Happy Birthday to me! And this time, I was wondering whether people really talk about resolutions or reflect on certain things during such individual special moments. So the inspiration of this post is based on that thought. In my opinion, I think some people do take the time to reflect on the past in order to evaluate their focus for the future during such special day or moment in life. However, I’m not sure whether many people adhere to doing that since I rarely hear of special anniversary resolution besides New Year’s resolution. After all, not everything in private matters are shared openly since such moments are individually based or motivated.

In view of that, I realize that I should not only celebrate the day as my birthday, but to also reflect on the past to refocus for the future. In addition, reflecting on how far God has brought me through His protection and guidance in my endeavours. As we say, count your blessings and name them one by one, then you will see or realize what the Lord has done in your life. A lot of things have really changed within me when I looked back to when I came to Belgium in 2008. Life is always progressing forward day in and day out. Every year or every birthday moment is definitely not the same as the previous year. New expectations for new beginnings, and that is why I believe anniversary moments are reflection points in one’s life.

We all have challenges to accomplish in 2015 and the process to achieving or realizing them is down to us. And the question is: do you believe in your dream, and are you ready to pursue it? For me, I do and I guess you do also because “a desire accomplished is sweet to the soul” (Proverbs 13:19a), and “hope deferred makes the heart sick but when the desire comes, it’s a tree of life” (Proverbs 13:12).

In all, I urge you to not only celebrate your anniversary moments, but to also see them as new beginnings in your life in terms of reflecting to refocus on future desired goals. Thus, I believe you will do so, and as today is my birthday, it’s my wish that God establish our steps to achieving our challenges in 2015 because with Him all things are possible.

Leave a Remark

